Most of us seem to go through life completely dependent on what is happening around us for our own inner peace or happiness. It is as if what goes on in our lives controls our inner state of mental or emotional wellbeing.

There seems to be no other way for a while – the only way to feel good is to have what we want in our “exterior” world- relationships, possessions, status, things “going well”. We are conditioned to believe that all these things have to make us happy, because most of the world knows no different. We often demand that situations and circumstances fulfill us. Eventually you come to realise that this doesn’t work. Situations change. What makes you feel good therefore has complete power over you to make you feel bad. Things that you desired and believed that once achieved or acquired could make you at peace, fulfilled or happy, seem to lose their fulfilling quality after a while, or they get destroyed or go away leaving you feeling unhappy again.

There is no other way to say it, but this. Real, authentic happiness comes from within. It is already there, now. What covers it up are many thoughts and emotions that you identify with, meaning that you are lost in them, lost in the ego.

Go Figure! And if you can make things any clearer, do leave a comment.

Peace Out

9 thoughts on “Daily Dose of Inspiration – Inner Peace

  1. Thank you for posting this. I don’t know if I can make it clearer, but I can relate 100% at this very moment. I worked relatively hard to get into this masters program at an Ivy League. Thinking the high quality name, mental stimulation, exposure to new people, the feeling of achievement, would give me happiness. I’m just about half way through my 2/4 semesters and all of a sudden I feel so unfulfilled. Questioning my why. Doing half assed work, missing assignments, not connecting. Something my advisor said to me earlier really hit home — that some people take on this program ( social work) to heal our own pain. So once those outside things come to fruition– which for me has been getting proof for the causes of my personal pain and just learning different ways to deal with it.. My passion or what I thought I was passionate about went away in some aspects. Lost in my ego you say? Yup. Pretty much. I don’t particularly feel happy anymore and now I’m back to square one. Do I want to blow this opportunity ? No way. But have I been lying to myself this whole time– trying to fill some void? And is it possible to embrace both and light the inner-happiness ?

    Anyway. That’s all. Thanks again.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It helps to get older, to look back and see that the transitory nature of life means that if your happiness is tied to a person, thing or circumstance, it is doomed to disappear along with the person, thing or circumstance. I seems to me that true happiness is linked to the possession of a grateful heart, one that recognizes everything is a blessing regardless how it may look on the outside.

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Wholeheartedly agree. For a very long time, I was unfulfilled in my job and I used shopping sprees, holidays – you name it to try and find the happiness that I was longing for. But I soon realised that it doesn’t matter what job you have, or how much nice clothes you have, or anything material. Happiness is really an inside job. You have to work everyday at finding the things that do bring you joy. And most of the time it has nothing to do with the material things we used to fill the hole in our hearts. You can choose to be happy right wear you are now. Look around you – your health, your family, your friends, your many blessings and smile, knowing that you don’t need anything else but yourself to be happy at this very moment.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

